Can Spring Be Far Behind?

Shedding Out

Daffodils, Lenten Rose, downy new grass, and Albert shedding his coat like a snake sheds skin…all signs that spring is definitely emerging.

Albert and I spent this afternoon getting ready for a Skype visit this week with a 5th grade class in Texas. The students are reading my book, Chancey of the Maury River. Albert and I are going to skype together from the barn because he is much more interesting than I am. As you can see, that pony is ready to shed out his winter coat! Honestly, he probably needs a few more spa days like today to get all that hair off [and mud].

This afternoon the barn kids helped me out. Little Alex – who is now well taller than I – got my computer and camera all set up and did the test drive. Maddy washed his fly mask, and more than one person helped me beautify Albert in the washstall. After I turned my boy back out in his field, I video skyped my dad for double-triple insurance that everything will go smoothly.

I hope on Skype-day the weather cooperates with us as it did today. Sunny, seventy degree days in February always bring to mind that verse from Shelley’s Ode to the West Wind, “If Winter comes, can Spring be far behind?” That one line has lifted me through many a tough time, and it’s a good tribute to Albert’s journey, too.

4 thoughts on “Can Spring Be Far Behind?

  1. Becky, thanks for stopping by and commenting. I’m tempted to go ahead and buzz him, but it still gets a little cold at night. Give Melody a carrot for me!

  2. Thanks, Meg! He’s pretty fired up about it, mainly because I’ve promised him lots of carrots and treats. [And he loves meeting his fans, of course.]

Leave a Reply

